NSSLHA’s Mission

NSSLHA is a pre-professional membership association for students interested in the study of communication sciences and disorders. The association’s mission is:
  • To advocate for students at the national, state, and local level
  • To forge professional relationships between audiologist and speech-language pathologists (SLPs)
  • To provide resources to help prepare students for a professional career
  • To facilitate the transition from membership in NSSLHA to membership in the American Speech-Language and Hearing Association (ASHA) and other organizations that provide entry into the speech and hearing professions.

UW NSSLHA Chapter

The local UW chapter of NSSLHA acts as a student-led forum for those pursuing clinical and research careers in speech-language pathology or audiology. In collaboration with regional and national partners, we aim to connect our members with valuable information, networking, resources, and other opportunities that will help them succeed in this pursuit. Additionally, UW NSSLHA is committed to supporting our community as a whole, through regular fundraising efforts and volunteer services.

Past UW NSSLHA events include:

  • Fundraising to assist with the purchase of new equipment for the UW Speech and Hearing Clinic
  • Donations to the American Speech-Language-Hearing (ASH) Foundation
  • Canned goods drives for the local Food Bank
  • Advisor panels for prospective graduate students
  • Graduate student mentor program
  • Q&A sessions (“fireside chats”) with faculty members regarding current research
  • Resume/application workshops
  • Networking mixers

NSSLHA Officers & Liaisons / 2016 - 2017

President: Justin Brodt brodtj@uw.edu
Vice President: Timothy Gaynor gaynot@uw.edu
Secretary: Amelia Wong wonga7@uw.edu
Treasurer: Josephine Lyou lyouja@uw.edu
Historian: Juliene Wall julienew@uw.edu
Community Service Chair:  Sarah Hartigan sarahh46@uw.edu
Fundraising Chair: Erin Navin navine@uw.edu
Social Chair: Jacqueline Chamberlain jacquiec@uw.edu
Student Services Adviser:   Gabrielle Gruber gruber@uw.edu
Faculty Adviser: Lauren Nehilla nehill@uw.edu

Contacts & Links

Email: nsslha00@u.washington.edu
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/UniversityOfWashingtonNsslha
National NSSLHA:  http://www.asha.org/nsslha/

Shamrock Run
Shamrock Run

Halloween Bake Sale
Halloween Bake Sale