Kristie A. Spencer
Phone: +1 206 543-7980

Announcements in 2019

Announcements in 2018

  • Dr. Spencer was the Invited Co-Chairperson, Conference on Motor Speech; Savannah, GA (February 2018)
  • Dr. Spencer was nominated for:
    • University of Washington Distinguished Teaching Award
    • University of Washington David B. Thorud Leadership Award
    • University of Washington Distinguished Teaching Award
  • Dr. Spencer was promoted to Full Professor
  • Doctoral student Katie Brown received the University of Washington Retirement Association Scholarship in Aging
  • Doctoral student Katie Brown was chosen as a Tillman Scholar!

press release:





Katie Brown, Ph.C., CFY-SLP

Doctoral Candidate

Dissertation Project: The relationship between speech and cognition in Parkinson's disease

Chosen as a 2018 Tillman Scholar

Recipient of the 2018 University of Washington Retirement Association (UWRA) Scholarship

Recipient of the 2019-2020 UWRA Fellowship



Dale Summer, M.S., CCC-SLP

New doctoral student






Manisha Gore, B.A.

Thesis student, Medical SLP Program

Topic:  Investigating perceptual subgroups of ataxic dysarthria







Emilee Mendoza, B.S.

Post-baccalaureate student, Lab volunteer




Mallory Dawson, M.S.

Recent Graduate, Medical SLP Program

Master's Thesis: Do Perceptual Subgroups exist in Ataxic Dysarthria?  Work presented at 2017 ASHA conference (Los Angeles, CA) and 2018 Conference on Motor Speech (Savannah, GA).

Thesis published in 2019 in the American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology




Jennifer Smasne, M.S.

Recent Graduate, Medical SLP Program

Master's Thesis:  Cognitive Rehabilitation for Individuals with Parkinson’s Disease: Developing and Piloting an External Aids Treatment Program. Work presented at the 2017 ASHA conference (Los Angeles, CA) and published in the American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology.

Recipient of the 2016 ASHA Students Preparing for Academic and Research Careers award AND the 2016 Academy of Neurologic Communication Disorders and Sciences Conference Fellowship Award!




Clare Friedlander, B.A.

Recent Graduate, Core SLP Program

Master's Thesis:  Health-related quality of life in individuals with Parkinson's disease.  Succesfully defended June 6, 2018!  Published in the International Journal of Neurodegenerative Disorders

Katie Cornell, B.A., BBA

Recent Graduate, Medical SLP program

Master's thesis: Using Smartphone Applications to Support Cognition in Individuals with Parkinson’s Disease: A Pilot Treatment Study.  Successfully defended August 6, 2018!



Doctoral and Master's Thesis Alumni


Susannah Balestracci, Master's Thesis


Phillip Weir-Mayta, Doctoral Degree, Awarded UWRA Fellowship and Scholarship

Ashley France, Master's Thesis


Caitlin Sears, Master's Thesis


Erika Hutchison, Master's Thesis, Recipient of Plural Publishing Research Award


Elizabeth Horwitz, Master's Thesis


Kristin France, Master's Thesis


Audra McAllen, Master's Thesis

Janelle Sanchez, Master's Thesis


Emily Blond, Master's Thesis

Holly Kavalier, Master's Thesis (Co-Mentor)

Kelly Morgan, Master's Thesis, Recipient of ASHA's Students Preparing for Academic & Research Careers Award


Dana Slocomb, Master's Thesis


Emily Johnson, Master's Thesis

Erin Wiley, Master's Thesis